Saturday, December 9, 2017

C-Vorheez ‎- Crowd Movers / Dreams (Wake Up) - 1999

C-Vorheez - Photo courtesy of Ozone Crew

Core member of the Crystal Lake Crew, Sheldon "Coz" Ellerby a.k.a C-Vorheez dropped his first debut single in 1999. The vinyl came out on Crystal Lake Entertainment, an independent record label based in Paterson NJ, headed by Sheldon and Mike Sisti : 

"I was half owner of Crystal Lake Entertainment L.L.C with C Vorheez AKA Coz. Crystal Lake studio was located in my basement during the production of some great Hip Hop produced by Coz and Bless One 
We started about 1998 after Low Budget Butta was produced by Ultra in 1997 and dissolved the label shortly because of creative differences.
I can say though my proudest moment of being a part of this CL thing was when me and Coz were leaving an MC battle in NYC and heading back to NJ in the snow. The radio was on Hot 97, DJ Premier who was filling in for Stretch Armstrong was cutting up our record "Crowd Movers". I had given him copies of the single the prior week at Tramps during an M.O.P. show that he DJ'd for." - Mike Sisti. 

The main single of this 12-Inch vinyl "Crowd Movers" was produced by B-Nice and features other Crystal Lake MCs : Master Poet of the group Mental Ward and Nook of the rap quartet F.O.D (Four One Dream).
 On the B-side, "Dreams (Wake Up)" produced by C-Vorheez himself, also features other members : Sludge Champ (Mental Ward) and Flex-man.

Album Review : OGC - Da Storm - 1996

2xLP - 1996 - Priority Records 

From Vibe Magazine - December 1996 

Thursday, December 7, 2017

STEZO - More Rarities EP - 2017

DF0087 EP - 2017 - Dope Folks Records

A1 - Bop Ya Headz
A2 - Shining Star
A3 - Bonus
A4 - Mr. S
B1 - Funky For Ya
B2 - Where's The Funk At (Hands Remix)
B3 - Bop Ya Headz (Dub)
B4 - Shining Star (Dub)

"Dope Folks Records 87th release is from the legendary STEZO! 
STEZO’s “More Rarities” EP is a follow up to our 8 song EP STEZO “Unreleased & Rarities” (currently SOLD OUT). 8 songs in all, this EP compiles the tracks from STEZO’s impossible to find mid-90’s 12”s featuring the songs “Bop Ya Headz”, “Shining Star”, “Funky For Ya”, “Mr. S” and the bonus freestyle track “Bonus.” This EP also features a remix of the song “Where’s The Funk At” by DJ Hands." - Dope Folks Records

300 copies only, Shipping in early January.

Pre-Order your copy : 

HHC - June 1997 : 3 is the Magic Number - De La Soul

From Hip Hop Connection - June 1997 

Mixtape : DJ Koco A.k.a. Shimokita ‎- Independent Vol. 1 - 2001

Mixtape - 2001 - No Label  

A1 - Odin Another Day 
A2 - Othorized F.A.M. We Othorized 
A3 - Ill Mentality Lovin' U 4 Dayz 
A4 - Pen Pals Madness 
A5 - Naughty Ax Congo Madness 
A6 - Infared Feat. N.E.U.K. Wartime 
A7 - Brain Dead A Soldiers Story (Instrumental) 
A8 - Dysfunkshunal Familee Easy Come Easy Go 
A9 - Problem Solver Drug Dealz 
A10 - ChillTown Cartel Malt Liquor (Remix) 
B1 - Nightbreed Long Time Coming 
B2 - DNA Bronx Criminal County 
B3 - Pauly Paps War Scarz 
B4 - Darkside Mob Darkside For Life 
B5 - Three Hundred Sixty Degrees 360° 
B6 - DJ Joint & T-Flawless (The Lyrical Attorney) Feat. Wenona Wyche Latoya '98 
B7 - Trife God World And Beyond 
B8 - Cipha Rock Rock On 
B9 - Power Hittin Artist Chasin' Clouds 
B10 - Global Platoon Keep Your Day Job

Props to DJ MP45

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Da Nabahood Threat ... Coming to a Neighborhood Near You...

Scan courtesy of Thorsten Haag

Da Nabahood Threat were a local group from the Mid-Hudson Valley, consisted of Jamal Jackson a.k.a Jackpot, R. Hargrove a.k.a Blackout and DJ Ernesto "Fidel Castro" Diaz. 
Jackpot was from Poughkeepsie (NY), Blackout and their DJ and sometimes producer, Fidel Castro were from nearby Beacon (NY).

No Album, no Demo Tape... Three singles in a 4 year period, that's all you can find from Da Nabahood Threat Trio. 
Their debut single "Off Witcha Head / Comin from Da Dirt" came out in 1994 on Night Breed Records and was produced by Exotic E. (Bumpheadz Productions).

12" - 1994 - Night Breed Records

If you're looking for some smooth Hip-Hop songs, this wax isn't for you because both instrumentals were certainly influenced by the Jamaica Queens based group Onyx, and the style is rugged and raw. Moreover the track "Off Witcha Head" contains a Sticky Fingaz vocal sample "I hate your fuckin guts and I hope that you die !" from the single "Throw Ya Gunz ".

In 1996 they were back with a new record released on Empire Recordings. Composed of 3 dope tracks "Where I'm From / Mind Tricks" produced by Jeff Beckett a.k.a Big J, and the well-known  "Represent Groundz" produced by DJ Fidel Castro and Paul Nice, containing a sample of "Scheherajazz : Second Movement" performed by Skip Martin (Little gift for you because It's not listed on WhoSampled yet !!!)  

12" - 1996 - Empire Recordings

"Actually, around 1985, when I was still in high school, I was the DJ for a rap duo called the “D & M Crew”, short for “Davis and Jamal”. Jamal (the M in the crew) later became Jackpot in Da Naba Hood Threat, so I had already known him for over 10 years by the time we worked on that record.
All I did on that song btw, was helping program drums on the MPC. When we did that one record it was through my friend and DJ mentor Joey T’s label Empire Records and we had recently put out an instrumental beat record (Beats Anonymous). The Nabahood Threat came out after that." - Courtesy of Paul Nice 

In February 1997, they had a release party at The Chance Theater for that single. Here is an article from the Poughkeepsie Journal about that party. By the way, Paul Nice told me that he has got pictures from that evening in his crate, so He's about to send them to me.

From Poughkeepsie Journal (Archives) - February 21st 1997

1998 will be the year of their last record. "Flip Da Script / The End / The Unknown / Live N Die", four tracks still produced by D.J. Fidel Castro released on Jackpot Records. 

12" - 1998 - Jackpot Records 

On this wax, to be honest, half of the tracks aren't my cup of Tea... "Flip Da Script" and "Live N Die" were made with smooth instrumental and R'n'B stuff ... But "The End" and "The Unknown" raised the level with dark and nostalgic instrumentals, in a pure Nabahood Threat style !

After that ... the group disappeared in the Mid-Hudson valley without a trace ... What a pity!

Props to Paul Nice